Our neonatal team consists of Doctors, Advanced Neonatal Nurse Practitioners, Sisters, Junior Sisters, Registered Nurses, Nursery Nurses, Receptionists, Housekeepers and Domestics, with the addition of Neurological Surgeons, Ophthalmologists, Dieticians, Speech and Language Therapists as the need arises.

A nurse on his/her shift may be responsible to care for one or two Intensive Care babies or two High Dependency babies or up to four or five Special Care babies, actual numbers may vary depending on a mix of babies dependency needs.

Director of Midwifery & Head of Nursing
Rachel Fielding

Divisional Operations Director
Karen Maxfield

Specialty Director
Dr Paul Mannix


Neonatal Consultants are the most senior doctors and head a team of other doctors and nurse practitioners. They have overall responsibility for babies on the unit. Each consultant has their own areas of particular interest, and lead a ward round each day when the management and care of the baby is discussed.

Dr Faith Emery
Dr David Evans
Dr David Odd
Dr Madhavi Parvathareddy
Dr Alison Pike
Dr Claire Rose
Dr Maria Tsakmakis
Dr Richard Wach
Dr Katie Farmer
Amiel Billetop

Clinical Matron
Michelle Jackson

Unit Sister
Amy Purnell

Developmental Care Team
Kathy Jackson
Rachael Stowell

Practise Development Sister
Claire Johnson

Practice Development team
Anna Kendal

Neonatal Infant feeding specialist
Cathy Budd

Feeding support advisor
Jo Holt

Neonatal Community Liaison Sisters
Caroline Burgess
Paula Brock
Helen Slocombe
Lisa Ramsey
Nazzi Farzinkia

Contact NICU

Telephone: 0117 4146800


Thank you for the care you gave our girls in the first few days of them being born and the help and support you gave us. The whole team was fantastic and you do a brilliant job.