Types of Multiple Sclerosis

There are 3 main types of MS:

  1. relapsing remitting MS
  2. primary progressive MS
  3. secondary progressive MS

Types of MSRelapsing remitting MS is the most common type of MS, affecting around 85 per cent of those diagnosed. It means that symptoms appear (a relapse), and then fade away, either partially or completely.

Primary progressive MS affects about 10 to 15 per cent of people diagnosed with MS. Symptoms gradually get worse over time, rather than appearing as sudden attacks (relapses).

Secondary progressive MS is a stage of MS which can come after relapsing remitting MS. It means there is a sustained build up of disability, completely independent of any relapses.




Support BrAMS

Southmead Hospital Charity logo

Support BrAMS through Southmead Hospital Charity. 

Types of Multiple Sclerosis